Plans for the Final Project

For my final project, I am making a coloring activity book to encourage youth to think about community and community action. I started out thinking I would make an art journal, but moved toward something participatory rather than personal as the semester went on. The idea is that youth (probably fifth grade and up) could work on the books in a facilitated group, which would guide self-reflection, give space for coloring and doodling to encourage brainstorming and creative expression, be a social activity for youth to connect with their peers, and promote community reflection and civic participation. It will cover themes like “What is a community,” to “What communities are you a part of,” to “What is something you can do for your community…”

It has been surprisingly challenging to work on, because I am struggling to balance the structure of a coloring book – with words and images already in place to be filled in – and freedom for creativity and self-expression. I really admire artists like Lynda Barry who excite curiosity and creativity in other people through unconventionality in her art, and I want to give space for that kind of free creative process for young people. Some of the questions brought up in class yesterday also play into this. In particular, who decides what art is, or what good art is? I want to move away from “good” and “bad” and just give space to reflect and make meaning.

One of Lynda Barry’s books:

WHAT.cover-thumb

Alongside the activity book, I plan to draft a facilitator guide for a teacher or youth leader. The guide would include instructions for the book to share with the youth (e.g. this is your book to do with what you want, the intention) and additional questions or activities for the group. In addition to the personal reflection piece of working on the book individually, I envision the group also talking among themselves at their work spaces about their thoughts and experiences, sharing with partners, and interacting as a group. By making it interactive, the goal is to encourage story sharing, perspectives, and personal truths, as well as an awareness and celebration of other people. I hope it would help youth to be both learners and teachers.

3 thoughts on “Plans for the Final Project

  1. This sounds like such awesome project! I particularly love the idea of creating an accompaniment to encourage further dialogue. I’m excited to see the final product! 🙂

    Like

  2. Super practical and I love the participatory nature. Will you write up what you learned from this experience in your blog? Would love to see what you come up with as well! Making it accessible through your blog would be a big plus!

    Like

Leave a comment